

EPP Group President Manfred Weber EPP Group Secretary General Simon Busuttil and all members of the EPP Group

Brussels, 2 December 2020

Dear Manfred, Dear Simon, Dear colleagues,

With growing dismay and impatience, we witness the increasing radicalization and verbal abuses of certain Fidesz MEPs of our Group.

On 23 and 25 November, Tamás Deutsch MEP, Head of the Hungarian EPP Delegation said in two different interviews¹ about Manfred Weber defending the new rule of law conditionality in the European budget: "Weber says, if you have nothing to hide, you don't have to be afraid. I remember well that the Gestapo and the ÁVO² had the same slogan." In the interviews, he further compares the EPP's insistence on the rule of law to nazi and communist oppression.

Comparing our support for the rule of law with Gestapo or Stalinist methods is an insult to all of us in the EPP Group.

Comparing the European Union to nazi or communist oppression is a blatant and intolerable distortion of historic facts and an insult and vilification of the millions of victims of nazism and communism.

The difference between Europe's darkest days of communism and nazism and our European Union of today is precisely this: the rule of law, independent judges, freedom of speech and media and protection from arbitrariness and cronyism. We all agree that the assessment, if something is in line with the rule of law or not, must not be made by politicians or journalists, but by independent judges.

¹ ATV" television, 23.11.2020, and "Magyar Nemzet" daily, 25.11.2020

² Hungarian Stalinist secret service

The statements of Tamás Deutsch, which he repeated at several occasions, are shocking and shameful.

The EPP Group must not give in on the Rule of Law.

Tamás Deutsch must no longer undermine the EPP Group's credibility.

That is why, with reference to the rules of procedure of the EPP Group (Art. 7, par. 2), we formally demand to exclude Tamás Deutsch from the EPP Group. The exclusion proceedings – as laid out in the rules of procedure – shall be started at the Group meeting of 9 December 2020 with a debate on the incident.

Kind regards,

Othmar Karas

Vladimír Bilčík

Deidre Clune

Frances Fitzgerald

Christophe Hansen

Danuta Hübner

Sean Kelly

Arba Kokalari

Andrius Kubilius

Georgios Kyrtsos

David Lega

Elżbieta Łukacijewska

Colm Markey

Luděk Niedermayer

Markus Pieper

Sirpa Pietikäinen

Jessica Polfjärd

Dennis Radtke

Petri Sarvamaa

Sara Skyttedal

Michaela Šojdrová

Ivan Štefanec

Róża Thun

Tomas Tobé

Henna Virkkunen

Maria Walsh

Jörgen Warborn

Pernille Weiss

Michal Wiezik

Isabel Wiseler-Lima